Welcome cosigners and potential cosigners!

Thank you for your support of postsecondary education opportunities. At ACPE, we understand that the decision to cosign on a loan is a serious one. We invite you to review the following information and carefully consider your borrowing options.

Here's what you'll need to apply to cosign:
  1. Create your own cosigner My Loan account (or sign in if you already have a My Loan account). Do not log in to the student's My Loan account. 
  2. Application ID and Cosigner ID (provided in your cosigner invitation email)
  3. To complete the application you will need:
    • Your Social Security Number
    • The primary borrower's name and Social Security Number
    • Two references with whom you expect to remain in contact with

Start Here to Cosign

Before you cosign, think carefully about your ability to repay the debt and your responsibilities as a cosigner.

Important considerations about being a cosigner:

 As a cosigner, you are agreeing to repay the entire amount of the student loan if the borrower does not pay, or even if the borrower dies or becomes disabled. Review the loan repayment tab to understand the financial obligation you are agreeing to and the monthly payments you would have to make.
  • Cosigned loans may appear on your credit report, and creditors may consider that debt as yours.
  • The loan status is reported to nationwide consumer credit agencies each month. Your credit report will reflect payment delinquencies if neither the primary borrower nor you make timely payments.
  • Cosigning a student loan is usually a long-term commitment. Cosigners cannot be released from the loan obligation. For example, the standard loan term for an Alaska Supplemental Education Loan (ASEL) is 10 years.
  • If the borrower does not pay as agreed, ACPE will attempt to collect the debt from them and you. If payments are not made, you may be subject to wage or Permanent Fund Dividend garnishment, liens on your property, and transfer to collections with associated collections costs.
  • Student loans are rarely dischargeable in bankruptcy. If you are the cosigner on someone else's student loan, in most situations you cannot discharge your obligation to repay that loan unless you meet specific undue hardship standards.


A cosigner can be a parent, legal guardian, grandparent, spouse, relative, or even a friend.

To be approved as a cosigner, you must:

  • Be a legal adult of 18 years or older
  • Be a U.S. citizen or eligible non-citizen
  • Have a credit history that demonstrates good credit, including meeting specific FICO score requirements for the loan you are cosigning

Cosigner/Borrower Relationship

Be sure to understand the implications to you of cosigning. As a cosigner, you and the primary borrower share the responsibility of repaying the loan. You may need to communicate with the other party about repaying as agreed because if your family member or friend fails to repay as agreed, it will be up to you to do so.


You may receive an email invitation requesting you to cosign a loan. To accept the invitation, follow the steps provided to apply and submit your application online. If you did not receive an invitation to cosign or if you prefer to submit a paper application, you can download the cosigner application from our Forms page.


Alaska law requires that Alaska education loan applicants have a credit history that demonstrates the ability to repay a loan obligation. Each Alaska education loan program has specific credit requirements that must be met in order for an application to be approved.

Alaska Supplemental Education Loan (ASEL)

  • Minimum FICO score of 650*

Alaska Family Education Loan (FEL)

  • FICO credit score of 680 or higher

Alaska Education Refinance Loan

  • Minimum FICO score of 680

* A FICO score of 650 to 679 also requires an absence of adverse credit

For more information on credit, view our Understanding Credit section.


As a cosigner, it is important that you stay informed of the status of the loan(s) you cosigned. Both the primary borrower and cosigner are sent repayment disclosures, monthly billing statements, and notices of delinquency when a loan is 30 or more days past due in payment.

Repayment Assistance
Many repayment assistance options such as deferment and forbearance are not available to cosigners. However, if the primary borrower is having trouble making their payments, ACPE offers a variety of repayment options that may help. Encourage the borrower to contact us for information and support during times of financial difficulty. For more information, review our Loan Repayment section.